Skip to content
2022 Teaching Excellence Awards

Message from Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning)

Dear colleagues and students,

I am very pleased to announce the recipients of the University’s 2022 Teaching Excellence Awards.  The Selection Panel was deeply impressed with the awardees’ dedication to teaching, their tireless and creative efforts to make learning enjoyable and challenging, and the impact they have made on student learning.

University Distinguished Teaching Award
• Mr. David L. Bishop, Faculty of Business and Economics

Outstanding Teaching Award
Individual award
• Dr. Lisa M.L. Cheung, Centre for Applied English Studies, Faculty of Arts
• Dr. Rachel K.W. Lui, Faculty of Science

Team award
• Dr. Michelle R. Raquel (Leader) and Mr. Simon D. Boynton of Faculty of Arts, Dr. Jack Tsao of Common Core Office and Mr. Donn E.V. Gonda of Centre for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning for Communication-intensive Courses

Early Career Teaching Award
• Mr. Nikolas Ettel, Department of Architecture, Faculty of Architecture
• Dr. Mei Li Khong, School of Clinical Medicine, Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine
• Dr. Austin M. Strange, Department of Politics and Public Administration, Faculty of Social Sciences
• Dr. Abraham K.C. Wai, Department of Emergency Medicine, School of Clinical Medicine, Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine

I would like to thank our external assessor Professor Moira Fischbacher-Smith (Vice-Principal (Learning and Teaching) of the University of Glasgow) for providing us with expert advice during the final selection process.  I would also like to thank the other Panel members: Professor Susan Bridges, Mr. Mathew Pryor and Mr. Gary Ng (student representative) for their assistance in this important exercise.

Please join me in congratulating the awardees!  

Professor Ian Holliday 
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning)
Chair, Selection Panel for 2022 Teaching Excellence Awards